DIY zipper bag

What you’ll need

– Black zipper
– White fabric
– Scissor
– Needle & thread


– Sewing machine (optional)
– Paint brush
– Fabric paint

Step 1Schermafbeelding 2015-09-01 om 09.34.23

Start by cutting two pieces of fabric. My zipper is 14 cm (5.5 inches) long and this will be the width of my fabric.

Step 2 Schermafbeelding 2015-09-07 om 13.24.13

Start with sewing around the edges of your fabric pieces (don’t sew them together yet!). Use a zig zag stitch, this will make sure the fabric won’t fray later on.

Step 3 Schermafbeelding 2015-09-07 om 13.23.38

Sew one of the fabric pieces onto the zipper. I always use straight pins when I’m sewing but this is optional. Once you’re done repeat this step with the other piece of fabric.

The picture below shows what your work should look like after you’re done with step 3.

Schermafbeelding 2015-09-07 om 13.23.26

Step 4Schermafbeelding 2015-09-07 om 13.23.06

Now it’s time to sew your fabric pieces together. Make sure the zipper is facing the inside of your bag! Once you’re done flip the pouch inside out. Make sure you open the zipper before doing this step! If you don’t you won’t be able to flip the pouch inside out…

Step 5Schermafbeelding 2015-09-07 om 13.22.34

Now that your zipper pouch is done it is time to start decorating it. I’m using the same technique as I did on my pillow case. After you’re done decorating your bag you can start using it! I will be using this bag to put my earphones in because I ALWAYS lose them but you can also use a bag like this for makeup or use it as a pencil case.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “DIY zipper bag

Leave a Reply

